Open Day at the ACT Legislative Assembly

Open Day Dates: 11 May 2024

We were in the car heading to Craft and Design Canberra for their recent pair of exhibitions when we spotted a banner on the South Building which accommodates the ACT Legislative Assembly advertising an Open Day. I was very excited. I was born and have lived in Canberra nearly all of my 72 years and have only been in the building once during a Heritage Festival art tour some years back.

After the exhibitions I went across and got to explore the building with a crowd that genuinely surprised me. On the square there was the mandatory sausage sizzle stall staffed by MLAs including Elizabeth Lee. Inside there were students preparing to entertain the visitors. The chamber was open with some staff and MLAs engaging with visitors. Various rooms were open with displays and informative staff on hand. Upstairs there was morning tea available and a chance to vote on your favourite symbol for the city. (I was glad I did nto see a tram.) Lots of children were eagerly doing craft activities. I do not know if this is an annual event or just put on in an election year but it clearly created a response in the people who were in the building.

I confess that other than about half a dozen of the 25 MLAs I did not recognise any. I had no name or face recognition for any of them even looking through the helpfully supplied pictures on the wall. If you want to find out more information about ACT Government the website below is very helpful.

Legislative assembly website: https://www.parliament.act.gov.au/

The included image was taken in the gallery by the author.

Leave a comment